I just have this deep craving for okoy. Since I am a thousand miles away from the Philippines, I can’t just go to any store here and buy some okoy. What to do?! So I went to the grocery and buy me some okoy ingredients. Better cook one for myself before I go insane, hehe. 😀

So here it goes, my okoy escapade! 😀

Special Okoy

What you need:

1/4 k shrimps
1/4 k bean sprouts (toge)
1 small squash (peel off, boil in water until cook and smash)
small sweet potato (cut into long strips)
tofu (cut in long strips)
1 egg
salt and pepper to taste
vinegar, garlic and sili for the sauce

How to:

Boil squash until cook and smash. Add beaten egg, salt and pepper to taste to smash squash. Set aside. In a small plate arrange bean sprouts, shrimps, camote and tofu strips. Add smash squash mixture. Heat cooking oil and fry. Serve hot together with vinegar, garlic and sili.

Bon appétit!

cimg0120a.jpg